The Heart Of The Amish by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Heart Of The Amish

The Heart Of The Amish – Book Review

Today I’d like to introduce you to one of the most important books I have read this year.

The Heart Of The Amish – Life Lessons On Peacemaking And The Power Of Forgiveness by Suzanne Woods Fisher is about one of the most difficult yet most profound acts that we as humans are called upon to do by Jesus Himself: to forgive one another of our the hurts we heap upon each other and to bless those that hurt us.

If you have experienced deep hurt in your life – and really, who among us hasn’t? – you might feel like forgiveness in certain instances is an impossible task. That’s why Suzanne turned to the Amish – a community that is renowned for their ability to forgive others in even the most impossible circumstances – to learn more about their unique perspective on life.

In The Heart Of The Amish, Suzanne shares the amazing stories, colloquialisms, and spiritual beliefs that allows them to release their pain and desire for revenge and live at peace with others. But we don’t learn forgiveness by reading about it – we learn forgiveness by experiencing its healing power and putting it in practice in our lives.

That’s why I appreciate the Reflections On Peacemaking that Suzanne provides at the end of each chapter. By giving us space to reflect on the lessons we are learning throughout the book and how it might apply to our lives, the author helps us move forward in identifying any areas in our own life that might need tending to.

Two other unique aspects of the book are the Amish Proverbs that open each chapter and Plain Truth – the fascinating facts about the Amish that close each chapter.

The Heart Of The Amish is a warm, homespun book that tackles a topic we all need to embrace – but would just as often avoid – in an inviting and approachable way.

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.

About Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of several fiction series about the Amish, including the Inn at Eagle Hill series, Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. She has also written several non-fiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace, and co-authored the new Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp.

Suzanne’s interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania.

Suzanne is a Carol Award winner, a Christy Award finalist, and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California.


For More Information

Other Books By Suzanne Woods Fisher

Other Books Of Interest

For More Great Books

Book Nook 200

Stay In Touch!

Follow Create With Joy On:

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.

Revell Reads

Copyright © 2015 by Create With Joy. All Rights Reserved.
If you see this content posted elsewhere, please contact the site owner.
Thank you for helping to prevent content theft!

3 Responses to “The Heart Of The Amish by Suzanne Woods Fisher”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Claudia
    Twitter: Imagesbycw

    This sounds very intriguing. I think I need to check it out. Thanks for the review.
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  2. Claudia
    Twitter: Imagesbycw

    This sounds intriguing. I am going to check it out. Thanks for the share.
    Have a great Sunday!

  3. Mary Hill
    Twitter: MaryHill16

    Sounds great. Thanks for linking up with Literacy Musing Mondays. 😉

Thanks for visiting Create With Joy! Your comments are greatly appreciated!


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.