The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Calling

Review Copy

The Calling – Book Review

If you are a fan of Amish fiction – particularly stories that involve interactions between the Amish and the outside world – than you will enjoy The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher.

The Calling is the second book in The Inn at Eagle Hill series. If you have not already done so, I’d advise you to start by picking up the first book in the series – The Letters – so you are fully versed in the background and characters in this book!

The Calling is a faith-based book that takes us back into the lives of the people of Stoney Creek and shows us how they live out their faith during times of crisis, and how their lives impact the lives of those they encounter.

Book 1 in the series focuses on the story of Rose Schrock. Book 2, The Calling focuses on Bethany, Rose’s daughter. In this story, we see Bethany mature as she works through the problems of her derailed love life and some other troubling situations she finds herself facing.

Another central character is Geena – a youth pastor who comes to the inn during a time of personal and career crisis. Even though their backgrounds differ tremendously, Geena and Bethany befriend one another and are able to encourage and support one another in a way that only God could orchestrate.

The Calling is a book that has something for everyone. You’ll meet characters of all ages so that you’re sure to find someone whose story you’ll relate to. You’ll encounter romance, drama, and mystery inside. There are even some wonderful Discussion Questions at the end of the book for you to ponder with your friends and Book Club!

If you have not already visited The Inn at Eagle Hill, now is the time to book a trip! The Calling makes a fabulous addition to this series!

About Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of several fiction series about the Amish, including the Inn at Eagle Hill series, Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. She has also written several non-fiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace, and co-authored the new Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp.

Suzanne’s interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania.

Suzanne is a Carol Award winner, a Christy Award finalist, and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California.

For More Information:

Other Books By Suzanne Woods Fisher

For More Great Books:

Stay In Touch!
Follow Create With Joy On
Facebook, Google Plus, Twitter
Pinterest, BlogLovin, E-Mail, RSS

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. I was not compensated or required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.


Copyright © 2014 by Create With Joy. All Rights Reserved.
If you see this content posted elsewhere, please contact the site owner.
Thank you for helping to prevent content theft!

3 Responses to “The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher”

Read below or add a comment...

  1. LuAnn Braley
    Twitter: KentuckyGal

    There are several Amish stores in our county. My husband loves elderberry jelly and they have the only place around that carries it.

  2. Ann says:

    Sounds like a great book and series. I’ll have to check it out!


  1. […] Book 2, The Calling, Rose’s daughter, Bethany and a youth pastor, Geena, develop the unlikeliest of […]

Leave a Reply to Ann Cancel reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.